Harry O

All You Can Eat And Drink

10 Surprising Foods You Think Are Vegan, But They’re Not

You may be surprised to find out foods that you assumed were vegan aren’t and Food Network has compiled a list of 10 that may have you rethinking your assumptions since fish, dairy, eggs and meat are off-limits for a vegan diet.

  • Wine – some varieties use animal and dairy products like fish, beef, milk and egg-derived ingredients to help with the “fining” process. There ARE some vegan options but you probably need to do some research to find them.
  • Sugar – may not be vegan either, as some manufacturers use animal bone char to give it the pure white color. Certified organic sugar is vegan.
  • Gelatin – surprisingly, gelatin is made from animal bones. Agar is a vegetarian source that can be substituted for the traditional product.
  • Gummy Bears – could contain gelatin and sugar so look for vegan brands that leave those out.
  • Chocolate – is made with milk so it’s not vegan. You CAN find vegan chocolate in the store if you look hard enough.
  • Sriracha – some brands are made with bone char-processed sugar so look at the label on your hot sauce if you want to make it vegan.
  • Coconut – PETA claims that coconut is a no-go because some producers have been known to use monkeys for labor, but it generally is considered vegan after all.
  • Caesar Salad Dressing – with egg yolks and Parmesan cheese, this dressing does not pass the vegan test, but vegan-friendly versions can be found.
  • Honey – since it’s cultivated by bees it is considered non-vegan.
  • Non-Dairy Creamers – many of these contain sodium caseinate which is a milk-based derivative.

If in doubt, always read the label if you want to make sure you’re going with true vegan products.

SourceFood Network

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Close
Back to top button